An introduction to the essence of the science of yoga

Yoga Basics

The word yoga was first mentioned in the oldest sacred texts, the Rig Veda. You must have a keen longing for liberation and intense Vairagya also. The Agamas are theological treatises and practical manuals of divine worship. One experiences a connection to the Divine dimension within us in order to improve our balance, joy and wisdom.

The body is, as I have stated, a microcosm Kshudrabrahmanda. The Smritis or Dharma Sastras also are books written by sages, but they are not the final authority.

The majority should seek their advancement along the path of Karma Yoga and devotion. They have five characteristics Pancha-Lakshana viz.

It continues its organic life. Patanjali organized the practice of yoga into an "eight limbed path" containing the steps and stages towards obtaining Samadhi or enlightenment.

Yajnavalkya Smriti is chiefly consulted in all matters of Hindu Law.

Science of Identity Foundation:

It teaches us to be centered and non-reactive to the dualities, to burn out unwanted and self-destructive tendencies. Join Jim and James as they discuss this form of training in general as well as review the three distinct courses designed to meet your level of experience.

You receive instructions from God. The five niyamas are: The sulba Sutras, which treat of the measurements which are necessary for laying out the sacrificial areas, also belong to Kalpa. The Southern Saivism, i. He is no longer an ordinary man, not even a simple Yogi, but a fully illumined sage, having conquered the eternal and unlimited divine kingdom, a hero having won the battle against illusion, a Mukta or liberated one having crossed the ocean of ignorance or the transmigratory existence, and a superman having the authority and capacity to save the other struggling souls of the relative world.

He has been involved in sharing this knowledge and experience in many countries around the world, including numerous trips to India. They are Shakti, and so is Kundalini Shakti. Do it 3 times in the morning and 3 times in the evening. There is really no theme in religion, philosophy, mysticism and polity which this great epic does not touch and expound.

In a sense, yoga is nothing more than a process which enables us to stop and look at the processes of our own minds; only in this way can we understand the nature of happiness and unhappiness, and thus transcend them both.

Sauca has both an inner and an outer aspect. Devotion, Meditation on the Divine Samadhi: Of course, the more positive therapeutic aspect of this is also implied: The great national heroes stand even today as beacon-lights to guide and inspire the people of the whole world.

Sahaja Yoga meditation gives the instant living experience to the person desiring to meditate by awakening the dormant divine energy known as the Kundalini. It must be known both here Iha and there Amutra. They may, however, and probably do, influence and govern the gross tract outside the spine in the bodily region lateral to, and co-extensive with, that section of the spinal column in which a particular centre is situated.

The Vedas are the oldest books in the library of man. It is Siva who does so in and through him. The Agamas are also the basis of Kashmir Saivism which is called the Pratyabhijna system. The working that is the body necessarily presupposes and finds such a static support, hence the name Muladhara.

These regions, namely, Bhuh, Bhuvah, Svah, Tapa, Jana, Maha and Satya Lokas correspond with the six centres; five in the trunk, the sixth in the lower cerebral centre; and the seventh in the upper brain or Satyaloka, the abode of the Supreme Siva-Sakti.

They are meant only for the learned few. Another sage will place before the Hindus of our days a new suitable code of laws. The Six Darsanas These are the intellectual section of the Hindu writings, while the first four are intuitional, and the fifth inspirational and emotional.The Yoga of the Bhagavad Gita (Self-Realization Fellowship) [Paramahansa Yogananda] on *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers.

With penetrating insight, Paramahansa Yogananda sheds a clarifying light on the deeper meaning of the Bhagavad Gita's symbology. "Yoga is the restraint of the modifications of the mind-stuff" – translation by Swami Vivekananda.

In subsequent sutras, Patanjali explains that once the mind is properly restrained, then the “seer” or the “soul, the true self” can rest in its own true nature.

"ALL ABOUT HINDUISM" is intended to meet the needs of those who want to be introduced to the various facets of the crystal that is Hinduism.

Minister Sushma Swaraj releases book on Yoga, PM Modi praises the book June 26, New York, 21 Jun: On the occasion of first International Day of Yoga Hon.

Indian Minister of External Affairs Sushma Swaraj released a book ‘Yoga: Bharat’s Invaluable Gift to the WorldR. Books published by The Divine Life Society are being made available for free on the Internet in PDF and HTML formats. Yoga (/ ˈ j oʊ ɡ ə /; Sanskrit: योग; pronunciation) is a group of physical, mental, and spiritual practices or disciplines which originated in ancient is one of the six orthodox schools of Hindu philosophy.

There is a broad variety of yoga schools, practices, and goals in Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism.

Existence precedes essence

Among the best-known types of yoga are Hatha yoga and Rāja yoga.

An introduction to the essence of the science of yoga
Rated 3/5 based on 58 review